Honorary Members & Observers

Honorary Members

Rt Hon Frank Ross Lord Provost of the City of Edinburgh


Honorary Patron of ELREC. Passionate about encouraging good citizenship and encouraging businesses to do their bit for the city in addressing social exclusion and inequality.

Professor Sir Geoff Palmer DSc OBE

Honorary President

Prof Sir Geoff Palmer is ELREC Honorary President. He became the first black professor in Scotland in 1989 and then a Professor Emeritus after his retirement in 2005. In 2014 he was knighted with New Year Honours. Jamaican Honorary Consul. Chancellor of the Heriot- Watt University. Jamaican Commander of Distinction. Chair of Edinburgh Council’s Slavery Colonialism Group. Chair of the Scottish Museum Group. Chair of University’s Colonialism and Race Group.


Cllr Kirsteen Sullivan

West Lothian Council

Cllr Andrew Coventry

Midlothian Council

Cllr Shamin Akhtar

East Lothian Council

Inspector Nadine Aliane

Police Service of Scotland

Supt Graham Jones

J Division, Police Service of Scotland

Supt Mathew Richards

E Division, Police Service of Scotland

Mr Nick Croft

City of Edinburgh Council