Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Mr Foysol Choudhury MBE MSP


Chair of ELREC. Member of the Parliament. Businessman and community activist, involved in various organisations. One of the founding member of Edinburgh Mela.

Mr Shami Khan DL

Vice Chair

Vice-Chair of ELREC and Chair of Edinburgh Mela. Ex Councillor of the City of Edinburgh Council.

Mr Rajnish Singh

Company Secretary

ELREC Company Secretary. IT Project Manager by profession. Involved with other organisations such as Scottish Indian Arts Forum, Mela, Edinburgh Hindu Mandir and Edinburgh Diwali.

Cllr Carl John


Treasurer of ELREC. Councillor for the West Lothian Council. Involved as a Board member of different charitable organisations, both in Scotland and Africa.

Mrs Irina Lazarenko

Convenor - Finance and General Purposes Subcommittee

ELREC Board member, Convenor of Finance and General Purpose Subcommittee. Willing to serve the community with experience and knowledge.

Mrs Azra Sharif-Qayyum

Convenor - Volunteer Subcommittee

ELREC Board member, Convenor of the Volunteer Subcommittee. Involved in the Board of other organisations. Skills in funding, mediation, governance and others.

Ms Magdalena Sajnaga

Convenor - Education Subcommittee

ELREC Board Member and Convener – Education Subcommittee. Involved in many voluntary organisations.

Ms Jessica (Zonghong) Yang

Convenor - Membership Subcommittee

ELREC Board Member, Convenor of the Membership Panel. Ms Jessica (Zonghong) Yang is originally from Beijing, China. She moved to the UK in 2000.

Rana Shaams

Board Member

ELREC Board member and Co-Founder/Director of Sunoh Scotland, Scotland’s largest Asian radio station.

Shahid Riaz

Board Member

I am a board a member of the Pakistan society of Edinburgh and board member of Edinburgh MELA

Mr Irshad Ahmed

Board Member

I am a businessman living in Edinburgh, I am involved in many voluntary organisations such as